Coram Deo

A blog of Cecille Hillman

I love Korean Food!

Actually it’s my favorite International food before Italian.     My liking for it started when I used to teach English to Korean nationals back when I was in college.   A lot of times they would ask me to stay for lunch, with Korean cuisines exclusively served on the table.  I never turned down their invitations not only because I  love spicy food and trying new dishes but mainly because I was hooked with their food!

Here in U.S. I won’t pass up going to Korean restaurant if there is one in the area.  Thankfully there is one close by Ft. Dix and so my family tries to go there for our once a month date.

Recently I was happy to come across a website  that features authentic Korean dishes.  It’s called Cathlyn’s Korean Kitchen which is hosted of course by Cathlyn ;).  I really don’t know who she is nor have I heard of her before, but her website is really very nice.  She does not only provide a step by step procedure of each dish she cooks but also post a printable recipe to help those who are not so confident in the kitchen like me. 😀

My first attempt in Korean cooking was Jabchae.  It looked similar to Filipino pancit as some of the ingredients were the same, but the flavor was a lot different.  My hubby thought that it was good, and said that “it’s a keeper”.

Jabchae ingredients

Jabchae ingredients

Jabchae

Jabchae

March 19, 2009 - Posted by | On My Plate | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Parang pansit nga! It’s really fun to experiment in cooking especially when you have the guts. I really wanna try to cook new dishes but I’m afraid my mother would say I just wasted money because they might not like it. 😀

    Comment by joycee | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hehe, that’s really funny. You reminded me of myself noong college ako. Di ako marunong magluto noon, tagakain lang. And when I did try new recipes, minsan pumapalpak. I remember cooking adobo for the first time, yung nephew ko na si Paulo, just because he didn’t want to hurt my feeling, kinain niya lahat yung pagkain sa plate nya although I thought it was the worst adobo ever. 😦

    Comment by thehillmans | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. Great job on the jabchae! 🙂

    Comment by Cathlyn Choi-Michelson | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hello, nice to meet you.
    My name is Yera from Seoul, Korea.
    I came to your blog by searching.
    I’m so glad that you like Korean food very much.
    Korean food is very delicious.
    I like Bulgogi and Galbi the most.

    I’m trying to show many aspects of our country.
    Please visit me if you can!
    Then Bye^^

    Comment by leeyera | November 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment